Visualizzazione di 70945-70956 di 90860 risultati

Biting Cold

Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago’s vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye—and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined.
And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing—among humans or inhumans.
Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he’ll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.
Książka ma 352 strony.

Biting Bad

**Merit’s adventures continue with a race against time to save Chicago – perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong**
Merit has been a vampire for only a short while, but she’s already seen a lifetime’s worth of trouble. She and her Master, centuries-old Ethan Sullivan, have risked their lives time and again to save the city they love. But not all of Chicago is loving them back.
Anti-vampire riots are erupting all over town, striking vampires where it hurts the most. A splinter group armed with Molotov cocktails and deep-seated hate is intent on clearing the fanged from the Windy City come hell or high water.
Merit and her allies rush to figure out who’s behind the attacks, who will be targeted next, and whether there’s any way to stop the wanton destruction. The battle for Chicago is just beginning, and Merit is running out of time.

Big Science

The epic story of how science went “big” and the forgotten genius who started it all—“entertaining, thoroughly researched…partly a biography, partly an account of the influence of Ernest Lawrence’s great idea, partly a short history of nuclear physics and the Bomb” ( *The Wall Street Journal* ).
Since the 1930s, the scale of scientific endeavor has grown exponentially. The first particle accelerator could be held in its creator’s lap, while its successor grew to seventeen miles in circumference and cost ten billion dollars. We have invented the atomic bomb, put man on the moon, and probed the inner workings of nature at the scale of subatomic particles—all the result of Big Science, the model of industrial-scale research paid for by governments, departments of defense, and corporations that has driven the great scientific projects of our time.
The birth of Big Science can be traced nearly nine decades ago in Berkeley, California, when a young scientist with a talent for physics declared, “I’m going to be famous!” His name was Ernest Orlando Lawrence. His invention, the cyclotron, would revolutionize nuclear physics, but that was only the beginning of its impact, which would be felt in academia, industry, and international politics. It was the beginning of Big Science.
“An exciting book….A bright narrative that captures the wonder of nuclear physics without flying off into a physics Neverland…. *Big Science* is an excellent summary of how physics became nuclear and changed the world” ( *The Plain Dealer* , Cleveland). This is the “absorbing and expansive” ( *Los Angeles Times* ) story that is “important for understanding how science and politics entwine in the United States…with striking details and revealing quotations” ( *The New York Times Book Review* ).

Between Their Worlds

*”A unique tale of vampires and half-vampire undead hunters set against a dark fantasy world ruled by tyrants.” the Noble Dead saga continues to entrance readers with action-packed adventures and an intriguing mythology. Now national bestselling authors Barb and J.C. Hendee present the long-awaited return of dhampir Magiere and half-elf Leesil….*
Wynn Hygeort receives unexpected visitors at the guild of Sagecraft. Magiere and Leesil, along with the elven wolf Chap, have come for her, but Wynn can’t afford to leave. She needs access to the texts within the guild’s archives, which may help her decipher the locations of the last two orbs sought by the Ancient Enemy.
There are five orbs in total. Magiere and Leesil have two of them in safekeeping. Chane Andraso, the vampire who loves Wynn, has hidden the Orb of Earth on her orders. To complete her task – and protect the orbs – Wynn must remain sequestered from her friends.
But she’s essentially a prisoner. One of the guild’s superiors is just as eager for Wynn to translate the ancient texts, but she knows the others will not permit her to share that knowledge – knowledge Magiere and Leesil desperately need if they’re going to stop the Ancient Enemy from unleashing war on the land….

Between the Strokes of Night

In the 277th century, Earth is dead, but mankind survives in colonies scattered across the galaxy. To these new worlds come the Immortals, beings with strange ties to ancient Earth who seem to live forever, who can travel light years in days – and who use their strange powers to control the existence of ordinary mortals. On the planet Pentecost, a small group sets out to find and challenge the Immortals. But in the search they themselves are changed: as Immortals, they discover a new threat, not just to themselves, but to the galaxy itself.

Bellwether

**Connie Willis has won more Hugo and Nebula awards than any other science fiction author. Now, with her trademark wit and inventiveness, she explores the intimate relationship between science, pop culture, and the arcane secrets of the heart.**
Sandra Foster studies fads—from Barbie dolls to the grunge look—how they start and what they mean. Bennett O’Reilly is a chaos theorist studying monkey group behavior. They both work for the HiTek corporation, strangers until a misdelivered package brings them together. It’s a moment of synchronicity—if not serendipity—which leads them into a chaotic system of their own, complete with a million-dollar research grant, caffé latte, tattoos, and a series of unlucky coincidences that leaves Bennett monkeyless, fundless, and nearly jobless. Sandra intercedes with a flock of sheep and an idea for a joint project. (After all, what better animal to study both chaos theory and the herd mentality that so often characterizes human behavior?) But scientific discovery is rarely straightforward and never simple, and Sandra and Bennett have to endure a series of setbacks, heartbreaks, dead ends, and disasters before they find their ultimate answer. . . .
**Praise for *Bellwether***
“One of science fiction’s best writers.” **— *The Denver Post***
“Connie Willis deploys the apparatus of science fiction to illuminate character and relationships, and her writing is fresh, subtle, and deeply moving.” **— *The New York Times Book Review***
“Keen social satire touched with genuine humanity . . . Connie Willis’s fiction is one of the most intelligent delights of our genre.” **— *Locus***
“A sheer pleasure to read . . . Sprightly, intelligent fun.” **— *Publishers Weekly***

Battlecry: Sten Omnibus 1

Vulcan is a factory planet, centuries old, Company run, ugly as sin, and unfeeling as death. Vulcan breeds just two types of native – complacent or tough. Sten is tough.
When his family is killed in a mysterious accident, Sten rebels, harassing the Company from the metal world’s endless mazelike warrens. It’s a fool’s errand, of course – no man can stand against the might of the Company and expect to live. But Sten isn’t just any man.
From the corrupt and brutal factories of Vulcan to the plots and intrigues of the Imperial Court, the galaxy is about to come face-to-face with the ultimate warrior. Sten’s already learned how to survive – now he wants more; he wants control of his own destiny. And he’ll do whatever it takes to get it.
No compromise, no retreat, no surrender. Only Sten.
This omnibus edition contains: STEN, THE WOLF WORLDS and THE COURT OF A THOUSAND SUNS.

Battle Station

Battle Station is a collection of short stories by Ben Bova.

Barbarians at the Gates

The Federation has endured for hundreds of years, but now it is dying, killed by the corruption and decadence of the Senate and the rising power of military warlords. The shipping lanes are coming apart, the colonists are revolting and outside forces are pressing against undefended borders. Now, as one warlord makes a bid for supreme power, the entire edifice is on the verge of falling apart. Two officers, bearers of a proud military tradition, may be all that stands between the Federation and total destruction.
For Admiral Marius Drake, there is no greater cause than the survival of humanity’s prized unity. For the young and ambitious Roman Garibaldi, the growing civil war offers a chance of promotion far beyond the usual boundaries. Together, they will save the Federation or die trying.
But with the Senate suspicious of any competent commanding officers, their success may condemn them to an inglorious death.

Bannerless

**A mysterious murder in a dystopian future leads a novice investigator to question what she �s learned about the foundation of her population-controlled society.**
Decades after economic and environmental collapse destroys much of civilization in the United States, the Coast Road region isn�t just surviving but thriving by some accounts, building something new on the ruins of what came before. A culture of population control has developed in which people, organized into households, must earn the children they bear by proving they can take care of them and are awarded symbolic banners to demonstrate this privilege. In the meantime, birth control is mandatory.
Enid of Haven is an Investigator, called on to mediate disputes and examine transgressions against the community. She�s young for the job and hasn’t yet handled a serious case. Now, though, a suspicious death requires her attention. The victim was an outcast, but might someone have taken dislike a step further and murdered him?
In a world defined by the disasters that happened a century before, the past is always present. But this investigation may reveal the cracks in Enid�s world and make her question what she really stands for.

Baking Sourdough Bread

Sourdough is magic. It’s healthy, it’s tasty, and it’s alive. But that doesn’t mean you have to be a magician to craft beautiful, tasty loaves from it. Baking sourdough bread is an art for everyone. *Baking Sourdough Bread* is the cookbook and guide into the delicious, healthy world of sourdough.
Baking with sourdough isn’t difficult; the biggest challenge is patience! But take it easy, and your taste buds will be rewarded with a crispy crust and rich, full flavor. Of course, it doesn’t hurt to know a few tricks when mastering the art, and this book offers plenty. Learn to make a sourdough starter, and keep the leaven active with regular feeding. Try different flours and unique ingredients; did you know you can make delectable bread with apples and raisins, for example?
The book contains recipes for classics like levain and Old English wheat-and-sourdough, unique twists like carrot bread and hazelnut, and sweet breads such as the German gugelhupf, among many others. But it’s not just the recipes that make the book a treat. It’s the creativity it cultivates. The book is a starter—and not just for sourdough.